The design of the Dimes, which were first minted in 1796, resemble closely the to the half dimes until the design of the Seated Liberty. The Dimes, just like the Half Cents and Large Cents, weigh twice as much as the Half Dimes.


The first of the Dimes was the Draped Bust which was minted from 1796 through 1807. It was followed by the Capped Bust from 1809 through 1837, Liberty Seated from 1837 through 1891, the Barber ( most common ) or Liberty Head from 1892 through 1916, the Winged Liberty, or more commonly referred to as Mercury, which was minted from 1916 through 1945.

In 1945, President Franklin D. Roosevelt passed away after leading our nation through the Great Depression and World War II. There was a prompt call to action to honor him on a United States coin.  Due to his association with the March of Dimes , it was an easy choice on which coin he would be featured on. The Roosevelt dime , which has remained the present day design with no changes since 1946, is the longest running United States dime design.